Log in
Log in

ABPsa Certification Committee

The selection of a Certification Committee member involves several steps. First, an individual may be recommended by a member of the Board of Directors, the Chair of the Certification Committee, an Institute Director, Dean, or other person familiar with the Certification Committee’s work. This recommendation is reviewed by the Chair of the Certification Committee who also interviews the potential member. This potential member must be certified and in good standing in the ABPsa. If these criteria are met, the Board of Directors must approve this person to be a Participant/Observer (P/O) of the Certification Committee.  As a P/O, this person participates in all Committee work during one meeting, observes at least one interview, and following an observation is the secondary interviewer in at least one interview. At the end of the meeting, the performance of the P/O is discussed by the Committee, and, if found suitable in clinical and interpersonal skills, the Chair of the Committee recommends to the Board of Directors that this person be made a member of the Certification Committee. The Board then makes the decision whether or not to appoint this person to the Committee.

Interested in serving on the Certification Committee?

Please contact the Certification Committee Chair, Dr. Jan Seriff to discuss eligibility, requirements, and expectations.

Certification Committee Members

Jan Seriff, PsyD, Chair

Laura Westen, PhD, Vice Chair

Dhipthi Brundage, MD

Stacey Fry, PsyD

David Goldenberg, MD

Bernadette Kovach, PhD

Rachel Louden, LCSW

Jack Miller, MD

Gavin Mullen, PsyD

Matthew Shaw, PhD

Participant Observers 

Howard Bliwise, MD

       Contact Us:
       501 S. Cherry Street, #1100, Denver, CO 80246
        Phone: (303) 676-8008  |  Email:

The American Board of Psychoanalysis is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to serving the public interest and promoting the profession of psychoanalysis through certification and maintenance of certification. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software